First Blog Entry

Kelly Overvold writes:

I’m very lucky to be digging at Area Q because it gives me the opportunity to see how an excavation area is begun, starting with the clearing of the area of weeds and rogue rocks along with the collection of surface finds. The first day of actual digging (Tuesday) was very exciting. A friend of mine made a very accurate comment about how she’ll be digging and just look up and around and realize she is on a full-blown archaeological dig and everything gets very surreal. That’s exactly how I feel. Even though I don’t intend to go into actual archaeology work, it’s still amazing to be a part of a dig like the one at Megiddo.

One of the major aspects of the dig that I didn’t really think about or anticipate, though I should have, was the camaraderie that develops between everyone in the area where we’re working. At my job back home, one of the things that makes working there so enjoyable are the friendships I’ve developed and the amazing dynamic between all the people who work there. Here at Area Q, it’s exactly the same. And even though I have to get up at 4 am every morning—a concept I still can’t wrap my mind around, I just do it—the excitement of the anticipation of possible findings and the time spent with the amazing people I’m working with makes it painless and something to look forward to.

One Response to First Blog Entry

  1. Mum says:

    I can’t believe my daughter is in Israel! How exciting! I’m looking forward to reading your blog every day!
    What I really can’t believe is that you’re waking up at 4:00 AM! I hope you discover many amazing things during your time in Megiddo. Things from the past, present and your future! Peace! Mum

Leave a Reply

