Butterflies and Excitement

Rachel Navarro writes:

I have been looking forward to my trip to Megiddo since I decided to transfer to George Washington University in the fall of 2006. My excitement has grown with each step I’ve taken towards actually getting to Israel: sending in my registration, applying for a passport, buying my plane ticket, ordering my trowel… My friends made fun of me because when I got my trowel I carried it around the house with me for a few days like a security blanket. I check the Megiddo 2008 Facebook group at least once a day to see what new information I need to know, and when I’m having a bad day, it always cheers me up to watch the video on the Megiddo website. My best friend left for Italy a couple of weeks ago, and talked about how nervous she was before she left, and I thought it was odd that I had none of those feelings about my trip. Now, however, I am leaving in four days, and I am steadily becoming more anxious as time ticks by. I have lots to get done before I leave to make sure everything (including the dog) is taken care of while I’m gone. I keep thinking, “Wow, I really need to make sure I don’t forget [insert important item such as passport here].” There are lists of things to do, things to pack, and things to buy scattered all around. The butterflies in my stomach only add to the excitement though. I’m going on an adventure! See you in a few days!

4 Responses to Butterflies and Excitement

  1. Marcos Navarro says:

    Have a great trip. We’ll see you in DC when I’m back from Iraq.
    Marcos

  2. Jessica F says:

    Hope you’re having a good time!!

  3. Lee Miller says:

    Dude, I kept asking Sean if you were safe. Im so excited for you!

  4. Barb Maupin says:

    We are so proud of you Rachel and will be living vicariously thru your eyes the next few weeks. Enjoy and keep passing your story on to us!

Leave a Reply

